Open-E Knowledgebase
Search:     Advanced search

How do I overwrite a file on a network share with the snapshot version?

Article ID: 22
Last updated: 02 Sep, 2008
Views: 3245
Posted: 08 Jul, 2008
by:
Updated: 02 Sep, 2008
by:

Symptom:

Problem:  I have a file in a snapshot that I want to copy back to the NAS share, i.e., I want to overwrite the Windows version of the file with the snapshot version.  Question:  Should I update the file (block) content or can I update the pointer in the NAS Share address table?

Solution:

Activate the snapshot by clicking on the green play button.
MAINTENANCE -> snapshot -> Function:  Snapshot tasks

Mount the snapshot in Windows Network Neighborhood,
i.e., map a network drive to the snapshot share.

Copy the file in question to the local disk.
Disconnect the network drive.

Map a network drive to your destination share.
Copy the file from the local disk to the destination share.

Additional information:

Open-E software impacted:

Example ticket number:

This article was:   Excellent | Very Good | Good | Fair | Poor
Also listed in
folder Troubleshooting -> Software

Prev   Next
What is the maximum number of snapshots?     What size should I make my snapshots?

The Knowledge base is managed by Open-E data storage software company.
RSS